licensing for Washington state (*see disclaimer below)

Who must apply?

Both parties must appear together to apply for a marriage license.  

Is there a residency requirement?

No, you do not have to be a resident of Washington State, or of the United States for that matter.  Foreign nationals may have certain restrictions, please check with the courthouse or your Officiant for further details.

What documents are required to apply?

Both applicants must have current photo ID: U.S. passport, U.S. passport card, U.S. military ID, permanent resident card, driver's license or state photo ID card issued by the Department of Licensing (DOL), or foreign government issued passport

Are there other eligibility requirements?

Both applicants must currently be unmarried


Both applicants must be at least 18 years old or can meet the age requirements


Both applicants must not be nearer of kin to each other than second cousins, whole or half blood

Where is my license valid?

A marriage license purchased from any county in Washington State can be used to get married anywhere in Washington State


If you plan to marry in another state or country, you must apply for its marriage license and comply with its laws for getting married

What is the cost?

Credit/debit cards - Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express - will be charged a convenience fee of 2.35%  by their banking provider.  No portion of the fee goes to King County.  


Personal checks, cashier's checks, and money orders (payable to King County Recorder)


Credit/debit cards - Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express - will be charged a convenience fee of 2.35%  by their banking provider.  No portion of the fee goes to King County.  


Cash (in-person only)

Time Sensitive Information

There is a THREE day waiting period for your license, and your license is only valid for 60 days


Applications can be initiated online, and then retrieved in person by both parties together after the three day waiting period


If both you and your partner cannot be present to pick up the license at least 3 days before the wedding, then you must apply by mail

Do we need to have witnesses present?

Yes, Washington State requires two witnesses be present at your ceremony.  If you are unable to provide two witnesses over the age of 18, advise your Officiant at your consultation so witnesses can be made available. There is no extra fee for this service.

What happens after the ceremony?

Immediately following the ceremony, the couple, the officiant, and two witnesses must sign the marriage certificate.  It is the officiant's responsibility to complete and return the license to King County within 30 days after the ceremony


Thirty days after the ceremony, if you wish to change your name, you must contact the courthouse and obtain a certified copy of your marriage license to take to the Social Security Administration to initiate your name change

DISCLAIMER

The fine print!

Each State's  (and County's) licensing can vary from state-to-state, so outside the State of Washington, you are strongly encouraged to double check with the local county courthouse if you haven't already done so as laws are subject to change without notice.   Keep in mind, obtaining and having your marriage license and driver's license on hand the day of your wedding is the complete responsibility of the engaged/married couple.  Both are required to perform your ceremony.  Avow will ensure all your license information is completed to file your paperwork after your ceremony with the appropriate legal authorities.  

image7